My Photo

Designation: Assistant Professor
Affiliation: School of Physics, University of Hyderabad [UoH]

Educational Background:
B.Sc. - Physics [Honours]: Presidency College, Calcutta (2001)
M.Sc. - Physics: University of Calcutta, Kolkata (2003)
Ph.D. - Science: Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata (2009)

Professional Career:
Visiting Research Scholar: Centre for Nonlinear Studies, Hong Kong Baptist University (2008-'09)
Research Associate: Dept. of Theoretical Physics, Indian Assoc'n for the Cultiv'n of Science (2009-'10)
UGC-D.S. Kothari Postdoctoral Fellow: Department of Physics, University of Calcutta (2010-'13)
Senior Project Scientist: Dept. of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur (May-Sep., 2013)
DST-INSPIRE Faculty Fellow: School of Physics, University of Hyderabad (Oct.-Dec., 2013)
Assistant Professor: School of Physics, University of Hyderabad (Dec. 06, 2013 Onward)

M.Sc./I.M.Sc./Ph.D. Courses Taught:
Quantum Mechanics-I, Quantum Mechanics-II, Mathematical Physics, General Properties of Matter [Fluid Mechanics], Advanced Statistical Mechanics, Mathematical Methods-I, Mathematical Methods-II, Statistical Mechanics, Modern Physics [Special Theory of Relativity] (ongoing), Many Body Theory (ongoing), etc.

Research Interest:
Statistical and Condensed Matter Physics (Theory): We analytically explore thermodynamic behaviour of cold and ultra-cold quantum systems in connection with Bose-Einstein condensation, Fermi degeneracy, superfluidity, Casimir effect, finite-size effect, magnetism, quantum mechanics, etc. We are also trying to expand our areas of research towards quantum phase transitions, graphene physics, topological insulators, etc.

Projects Undertaken:
2013-2018: INSPIRE Faculty Award Scheme of DST, Govt. of India (ongoing)

Awards and Recognition:
UGC-D.S. Kothari Postdoctoral Fellowship-2010, RRI-S. Pancharatnam Postdoctoral Fellowship-2013 (offered), DST-INSPIRE Faculty Award-2013, etc.

Distinguished Collaborators I Worked (or am Working) With:
Prof. Jayanta Kumar Bhattacharjee (IACS-Kolkata), Prof. Bambi Hu (Hong Kong Baptist University and University of Houston [2008-2010]), Prof. Debnarayan Jana (University of Calcutta), Dr. Amit Kumar Agarwal (IIT-Kanpur), Prof. Subhash Chaturvedi (IISER-Bhopal), Dr. Saugata Bhattacharyya (Vidyasagar College, Kolkata), etc.

Remarks: Lecture notes, uploaded here, were taken by our M.Sc student Miss. Dibyata Rout (2015-16).

Last Updated: Feb. 16, 2018

Selected Publications

(i) A. Bhattacharya, S. Das, and S. Biswas, Particle scattering by harmonically trapped Bose and Fermi gases, Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics (2018)

(ii) S. Biswas, J. Mitra, and S. Bhattacharyya, Energy fluctuation and discontinuity of specific heat, Journal of Statistical Mechanics: Theory and Experiment 2015, P03013 (2015)

(iii) S. Biswas, S. Sen, and D. Jana, A complete theory for the magnetism of an ideal gas of electrons, Physics of Plasmas 20, 052503 (2013)

(iv) S. Biswas, J.K. Bhattacharjee, H.S. Samanta, S. Bhattacharyya, and B. Hu, The critical Casimir force in the superfluid phase: effect of fluctuations, New Journal of Physics 12, 063039 (2010)

(v) S. Biswas, More accurate theory for Bose-Einstein condensation fraction, Physics Letters A 372, 1574 (2008)

Contact Information

Room No. P 116,
School of Physics,
University of Hyderabad,
C.R. Rao Road, Gachibowli,
Hyderabad-500046, India

Email ID: sbsp [at]
Fax No. : +91-40-23010227
Tel. No. : +91-40-2313 4366/4400

Faculty Qtr. No. SB-49,
South Campus,
University of Hyderabad,
C.R. Rao Road, Gachibowli,
Serilingampally, Rangareddy, Telangana, India

Home Town:
Vill.- Leningarh [E-Block],
P.O.- Chandpur Leningarh [Via- Sodpur],
Kolkata-700110, India