About School

School of Physics was Established in 1977. Since then the School has consistently engaged in teaching and research in diverse areas of Physics. The school has been recognized by the UGC as a "Center for Advanced Studies" and DST for its FIST program. School offers the following teaching/research programs. School is also a regional center for the Theoretical Physics Seminar Circuit.

We are also UGC Network Resource Center in Physics

School offers the following teaching/research programs Click on 'Teaching Programs' to know more about each of these courses.

  1. M.Sc.in Physics
  2. M. Tech. in Integrated Circuits Technology
  3. M. Tech. in Micro Circuits & VLSI
  4. Integrated Masters program (five year course - first two years with College of Integrated Studies, bridge year with School of Physics and  remaining two years merged with M.Sc. program)
  5. Ph.D. in Physics,  Ph.D. in Electronic Sciences. 

All programs related to Electronic Sciences are handled by Center for Advanced Studies in Electronic Science and Technology (CASEST) .

Admission for MSc., IMSc and M.Tech. (microcircuits) is through Entrance tests (Separate for each course), held nationwide in month of May/June. Admission for Ph.D. courses happen twice a year (May/June and December) - with a nationwide written test followed by an interview at Hyderabad.

Admission to M.Tech (ICTechnologies) is through Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) exam. Actual dates for the written exams and other information are announced on the University website .